Newbie intro and question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie intro and question

Hi Everyone I am new to this forum. Not sure where to post. I am from a suburb of St. Paul Minnesota. I have been quilting on and off for many years and still consider myself a newbie. I mostly pieced by hand which I love and then bought a entry level machine. Iā€™m not too great at that yet but am learning. I am wondering what machine anyone would recommend for a middle of the road not fancy quilter? I hope this was the right place to post. Thank you for having me on this forum!

Welcome to the forum! We just had a couple of threads on new machines. I'll post them here and maybe ask questions in one of those.
    https://forum.missouriquiltco.com/fo...ewing-machines

https://forum.missouriquiltco.com/fo...dations-please

It's hard to say what is middle of the road. People upgrading all the time.
    šŸŒŗ Lorie

Comment

Please clarify if you are looking for a better quality domestic sewing machine or a quilting machine.

My LQS sells only Baby Lock. I have a Viking Opal 670, which I purchased from the previous owner. At the time it cost $750. I traded in my old DSM for it. I don't know if Vikings are available new anymore--possibly used. The quality has changed of recent years, I've heard, & parts are hard to get. It's possible to do straight line quilting with a walking foot & even free motion quilting with a DSM. If you're still getting used to your sewing machine, I would wait to even consider a quilting machine.

Welcome to the Forum from Colorado.

Comment

Welcome from the Basque Country

Comment

Hello and Welcome from northern California šŸ˜Š

Jeannette

Comment