Singer Featherweight feet

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Singer Featherweight feet

I just received two feet for my featherweight (from Aprils 1930s). One was a 1/4" foot and the other was a walking foot. Both feet have plastic parts where I think the most wear will be and so could be broken and then useless. Has any one any info about this? Have you ordered and, or used these items? Should I return them and keep looking for the same items with metal parts? Thanks in advance, xanadu.

Re: Singer Featherweight feet

Wish I could help you - I am not an expert on feet (even those attached to my own body) but I'd think if you have plastic parts you are probably just as well off as anyone else. Most of the newer machines are using plastic and while there are problems with occasional breakage, it usually will hold up for the purpose for which it is intended.

Unless you can locate a source of 'original' replacement parts, it will be hard to find anything that doesn't have plastic parts now days. I just did a search on my usual replacement parts and accessories sites and everything available now has plastic - regardless of the manufacturer.

I'd use it and enjoy!!
    Sometimes, when there's a raging fire,
    it's best not to try to put it out with gasoline.

"...pal carajo con la negatividad..."

Comment

I have had two 1/4" Featherweight feet and the plastic broke where the screw tightens down. Believe they were called "Little Feet". I was disappointed as they were each well over $20.00. I have had better luck with a 1/4" foot from Alphasew P60307. It is plastic as well but so far, none have broken. I have one on each of my four Featherweight machines. Believe they were around $14.00. They do get used quite a lot as my four machines go to my quilting guild weekly for other sewers to use. You can google Alphasew to access a web site.