Applique-cutting fabric with the Cricut

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Applique-cutting fabric with the Cricut

I am really new to quilting, so I don't have much experience. I have a Cricut machine, though, and have successfully cut fabric into shapes. I would love, love, love some tutorials on doing some quilting with appliques. Do I just make a small block and insert it with other kinds of blocks? By the way, I LOVE the Missouri Star tutorials. I am totally learning to quilt just by watching them. It is really motivating that they are so simple and makes me feel like I can do it. Keep them coming!

Re: Applique-cutting fabric with the Cricut

Originally posted by Kimberly View Post
    I am really new to quilting, so I don't have much experience. I have a Cricut machine, though, and have successfully cut fabric into shapes. I would love, love, love some tutorials on doing some quilting with appliques. Do I just make a small block and insert it with other kinds of blocks? By the way, I LOVE the Missouri Star tutorials. I am totally learning to quilt just by watching them. It is really motivating that they are so simple and makes me feel like I can do it. Keep them coming!
    wow, you are so lucky to have that machine ! That is on my list of purchases, one of these days ! I love applique...You can do applique more than one way... you can put the shape on some fusible, I've used it without it to, but it's easier with the fusible, and place it on your block and adhere it with an iron then use your machine and do a zig zag or satin stitch around the raw edges OR you can do needle turn where you put the shape/design on your block and turn the edges under as you stitch.... if you're not sure I found a tutorial on youtube... just type in nancyellenquilts... hopefully jenny will make a tutorial on this but if you're not sure which method you want to try then you can check out a few videos on youtube ! Hope this helps !

Comment