PDA

View Full Version : Nine patch help!

wendanik1
July 16th, 2010, 09:19 PM
Can anyone tell me how to make a 9-patch block similar to the one you can see on the green/brown quilt in the background of several of the tutorials? I have watched the tutorials on the 9-patch, but the one missouri star does uses only 2 different fabrics. I really love the look of the one I am referring to because it has 9 different fabrics, giving it a scrappy look. I guess I am wondering if there is an easier way to make it than actually cutting all those squares out separately first and then sewing them together. I was going to use a layer cake and am trying to figure out if there is a good way to cut strips and sew them and then cut to make the units and still come out with the 9 different colored blocks rather than just two?
Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. I am new at this but love it none the less!!!!!
Thanks!
wenda

middlesis1966
July 17th, 2010, 09:18 AM
Hi there! I watched the tutorial, and from what I understad she was using strip sets. It sounds like you should be able to use all different fabrics if you are cuting your fabric that way, or usung a jelly roll. But If you are usung Charms or layer cakes you will have to sew each one. I hope this helps. Have fun!

Maureen Henault
July 17th, 2010, 10:57 PM