PDA

View Full Version : School Sewing Group

RachZ
March 21st, 2012, 08:19 AM
Hi
I'm a teacher in Australia. Girls in my maths class were privileged to see my quilts, they were most taken with them. They want to start a lunch time sewing group and I'm looking for cool projects for them to complete that aren't too expensive (we are a poor inner city school) and that don't take too long (their attention spans aren't great). Also they are 8th graders so has to be 'COOL' :)
Any ideas more than welcome!
Thanks
Rach

sunflower1944
March 21st, 2012, 09:07 AM
Hi Rach, what a great idea. Have you checked out Jenny's tutorials here on MSQC? Lots of ideas and quick and easy. Good luck with this project and I hope you will post pictures of the quilts they make.

Jean Sewing Machine
March 21st, 2012, 09:20 AM
Will they each work on an individual project, or a group project? I teach at a comminity college and while we don't use " bulletin boards" to display items, I saw a display of paper crafted blocks that looked like quilt blocks made from triangles and squares. Guess it was a child development class. that really caught my eye! Designing with shapes really fits into a math curriculum, all the measuring and adding seam allowances. So, with that in mind, Perhaps each girl could design a block on paper, then recreate several to share with her classmates. Like Block of the Month sharing that some groups do here. They could learn how to sew carefully, and also share and each one would have a small quilt when they were finished.

Also. They might be interested in tessalations ( did I spell that correctly). I've seen fish, and I just did one with cats where their tails were intertwined. I found that pattern online called Kool Kats Kwilt by Patti Carey. It is sort of complicated but it could be an inspiration piece for them! You can see the one I made on my blog www.soooowht.blogspot.com. The cats are made of squares, triangles and rectangles.