PDA

View Full Version : Advice on horses

chelea
September 18th, 2018, 01:10 PM
In early August I went to visit one of our kids who lives out of state, in a somewhat rural area. At the corner of their lane there's a house and a pasture. The owner of the house moved away and left 2 horses there (and several cows; I know much less about them). Neighbors are aware of the situation and have been sort of looking out for the animals. I became concerned when we went to give the horses some carrots one day. One of the horses has a very bad infection on it's ear. Their heads were literally covered with flies. I'm a suburban girl and know nothing about horses but I am a nurse and know enough to recognize a severe infection. From what I was told, the ear had been like that for weeks. I'm an animal lover and it broke my heart to see these 2 very sweet horses who are obviously neglected. So I called the spca who referred me to animal control. I left a detailed message with the dispatcher...about the abandonment, questionable food/water situation, no shelter and of course the ear infection. Within 2 hours I got a call back from the animal control officer. He said he had been in contact with the owner, the ear was being treated, that they have an automatic water dispenser. Made me wonder if he looked into it at all since his response was so quick.
Fast forward to mid-September. I'm visiting again. Situation has not changed one iota. The ear is worse than ever. The horses are now standing in the very corner of the pasture, up against the fence at the end of the lane, pacing, picking up their hooves. They just didn't look right. They stayed in that spot almost non-stop for the 4 days I was there.
My questions:
What could that infection be? Is it normal that everyone I've spoken to doesn't seem too concerned?
Is there such a thing as an automatic water dispenser for horses? They must be getting some water because they would have perished by now.