PDA

View Full Version : Anyone take a cruise to Alaska?

Hulamoon
March 6th, 2018, 12:25 AM
I really need a vacation and thought what could be more out of the box coming from Hawaii than Alaska! I guess I have to fly to Seattle or SF. I see all the itineraries and companies and get all confused. I'll be going this one alone. Any advice?

SuzanneOrleansOntario
March 6th, 2018, 12:44 AM
My quilting girlfriend and I are itching to go on a quilting cruise.

I know several people who have gone on them and love it. I have cruised but this was before I started quilting. I'm not sure where I would put all that I buy, as I am a pro-shopper. I usually max weight on one luggage and have to buy another to put extra stuff.

Post if you decide on a particular one. I know there are cruises to Hawaii, Alaska (on the other coast for us), but maybe a Caribbean or Meditarranean one.

Jean Sewing Machine
March 6th, 2018, 12:53 AM
Went about 15 years ago, went out of Seattle on a small ship. Loved it a lot!

MSN
March 6th, 2018, 01:06 AM
I have never gone on a cruise (I get violently seasick), but I understand that the Inside Passage is spectacular.

If you are on a budget and are willing to forego the usual cruise activities and endless buffet, consider planning a trip on the Alaska State Ferry. It travels to many of the same ports. You can even pitch your tent on the deck.

https://www.dot.state.ak.us/amhs/

KarenC
March 6th, 2018, 01:14 AM
I took a Princess cruise along the inside passage. Would love to go again, especially to Juneau. I want to walk on a glacier.

Mom23
March 6th, 2018, 01:14 AM
I've attached a link for the Alaskan cruise we took almost three years ago. It was a great trip. I have heard great things about the Alaska State Ferry as well. Perhaps you could check reviews for both to see which would work better for you.

https://www.princess.com/learn/cruise-destinations/alaska-cruises/cruisetour-options/denali-explorer/index.jsp

LauraP
March 6th, 2018, 01:42 AM