PDA

View Full Version : hi all ..l've got a question

Lisaau
April 11th, 2010, 10:31 AM
Firstly I'm new to quilting and l'm doing a qulting class still making my first one a disappearing nine patch l think tis called .

My question is this l've got an old commercially made quilt thats seen better days and l've cut it down and kept the pieces that are still in good condition and l've cut down an old pair of my husbands jeans and bought 3 mtrs of jeans fabric from a local store.

Now l bought some cheap fat quarters from the same store and one is navy blue with tiny white dot flowers all over it and its so very close in design to one of the fabric in the old quilt. I am going to do this by machine and make it into a rag quilt where you put the 2 wrong sides together and sew the seam right sides out and the seam can be seen on top of the quilt. With this navy blue fabric l want to do some applique on the top a vase with flowers in it. I know with rag quilts you sew top, batting and backing together at the same time with an "X" in the middle from all 4 sides.....but what l'm wondering is can l do that with the "X" in the middle and still applique ??? wont the sticthing show up on the top of the backing fabric or can l applique first then sew all 3 layers together at once?? and if l do that will l need to put the centre of my "X" in the middle of my applique??.

Sorry for the long winded quesiton thanks for any help you guys can give .:icon_happy:

wilder
April 11th, 2010, 11:12 AM
If I were doing this, on the blocks where you wish to put the applique I would not do an X. Is the applique going through all three layers, if so, you don't need the X, if not, then sew around the ouside of the applique. Ruth:icon_wave:

shell.scraps
April 11th, 2010, 11:14 AM
I haven't appliqued yet...so I will defer to one of our resident applique experts!! I'm sure that someone will be along with an answer soon...

but it sounds like it's going to turn out really cool!!

ktbb