PDA

View Full Version : It's Monday, It's April, It's Spring - can you dig it?

Blondie
April 4th, 2016, 06:56 AM

Hello Folksies!

If you would kindly substitute the word Monday for the word Friday in the above, then you would be on the same page as me. Almost! The last few weeks have been a blur of never ending activity culminating last week house and dog sitting for my DD. My Sis stayed with me the majority of the week; the rest of the nights it was just me and the pooches - Lady, Cheyenne and Max. Steve's youngest son, Austin, who is supposed to graduate in May (notice I said supposed) was not in any daily attendance, but rather, in typical teenage fashion, making an appearance to adjust his tarnished halo now and then. The closer it got to their return, the more frequent his presence was felt, smelt and seen.

Teen age years. While I am not an expert, having 3 teens all at once allows me some qualification that entitle me to say with confidence that the teen age year suck. Those years are painful for everyone involved. Zits, crackling vocal chord, stinky B.O. and the ablility to manufacture oil give way to expressing one's self in the most outlandish or homely way. In an effort to make that statement that I am so unique, they make themselves an object of awe - not in a good way. I know, I know, not all go through this. I sure know a lot who do. Most all go through the various stages of You just don't understand, you don't get it, I am so much smarter than you, I am hipper than you, you have never been as cool as I am, I will never be as old as you, and on and on and on. It is during these years we hope we have taught them that if all the kids they admire jump off the bridge, they would not need to. To establish individuality does not mean to self mutilate and etc.