PDA

View Full Version : I'm several hundred thousand dollars in debt...

HandsomeRyan
March 18th, 2016, 01:41 PM
...but I can finally say I'm a homeowner!

The yard and landscape need a lot of work (good thing I'm a horticulturist by trade) but the structure of the house is good and it is in a great area.

We met our next door neighbor who seemed like a really nice guy and he has kids who are almost the same age as mine. I know there are other kids in the neighborhood too.

Also, that room above the garage, that's my dedicated sewing room. I had to compromise on literally every single other thing I wanted in a house while we were looking but I did get ≈500²ft of sewing space!

Nothing moved in yet but this will eventually be home to at least 3 sewing machines including a treadle I just bought, a serger, an embroidery machine, and eventually a mid-arm machine and frame for quilting.

A lot of work ahead of me both inside and outside the house but we are so excited.

auntiemern
March 18th, 2016, 01:48 PM
I think it is beautiful, and you will have it the way you want it in no time at all. Congrats on getting a great family home.
Do you get to have chickens there?

HandsomeRyan
March 18th, 2016, 01:53 PM
Do you get to have chickens there?

I don't think so. I might try to raise quail again though. I'm not sure they are allowed either but they are easier to do quietly.

Midge
March 18th, 2016, 02:02 PM
Congratulations on your first house. It looks wonderful, and great that you are already meeting the neighbors with kids. I know you will renovate the landscaping and have it looking terrific in no time.

beccavan1
March 18th, 2016, 02:05 PM
Congratulations on your new home! Before I read your post, I was admiring the house and yard and my first thought was "that room above the garage would definitely be my sewing room". I bet ALOT of us thought that!