PDA

View Full Version : Why oh why?

asta
July 1st, 2015, 09:57 PM
I can not seem to pick out a decent seedless watermelon to save my soul. At the grocery store today with DH I picked out one and he suggested I stick to the seeded kind because I am an expert with those. But the stores around here don't even carry them any more-only the seedless variety. Well, just finished cutting up a couple to bring in the morning to a funeral dinner and once again not the greatest-not bad but not the greatest. Does anyone have a secret they are willing to share for picking out these monsters? Or is it just the luck of the draw for me?

K. McEuen
July 1st, 2015, 10:02 PM
I look for one with a yellowish color to the bleached spot where it sits on the ground. Some are more whitish green, the yellower it is, usually the riper/more sweet it is.

Hulamoon
July 1st, 2015, 10:11 PM
I do what Karen said, yellow spot on the bottom. My store buys from local growers for those. I wish they would do more.

bubba
July 1st, 2015, 10:20 PM
Don't ask me why, but I knock on them. My dad always did that, so I do too. I don't eat them, but I can pick them!

Here is a way to cut the big ones if you are at a picnic. Instead of slices, cut the melon in half (around the short middle part). Then place the cut edge down and cut 1.5" squares from the rine to the cut edge....you have watermelon sticks! The kids love them!

ilive2craft2
July 1st, 2015, 10:59 PM
I tend to go by the yellow spot - the darker the more ripe

Here is a NY Times video about it.

http://www.nytimes.com/video/technology/personaltech/100000003775646/app-smart-mixology-guides.html?playlistId=1194820411913

Sylvia H
July 1st, 2015, 11:02 PM
I think the yellow spot is the best way, but I remember my mother and father thumping on them. Of course, they were seeded, as the seedless were not available "way back then". I was told that if the thump sounded hollow, the watermelon was ripe.

Snickeldorfer
July 1st, 2015, 11:13 PM