PDA

View Full Version : To All the Missing Dads ...

K. McEuen
June 15th, 2014, 03:37 PM
I know many of us here are missing our Dad's this Father's Day. Mine died in 2006 and there are still days when I miss him terribly. Today is one of those days.

I'm going to tell you all a little bit about my Dad - born of German immigrants on a small farm about 15 miles from Waco, Texas, Dad was the second from the youngest of 8 kids. If you had a farm back then you had plenty of kids to help you work the farm. Dad went to school through the 8th grade. He couldn't spell for crap, I used to have to spell Phoenix for him every time he wrote to my Aunt Aggie when she lived there. Dad was a machinist by trade, and a good one at that. He worked for different aerospace companies over his career, building various parts for different government contracts. The engineers on the projects would come to him to have him help work out the schematics on things they were designing. I found out (some time around 1985 or so) when I showed him some pictures that I had taken of the Stealth Fighter at an airshow that Dad had worked on the wing assembly of that plane back in 1958. The technology was in place 30 years before the plane was shown to the public!

Dad was in the Navy during World War II. I'm not sure what his first job was, but the one I remember, because of the following picture, was as a salvage diver. I asked him why he wanted that job, because Dad wasn't much for water and swimming. He told me that he got an extra fifty cents a week pay for doing that job. Must have seemed like a lot at the time, to a small town Texas farm boy. I am attaching one of my favorite pictures of him. It is the one from way back when, in his diving suit. And for those of you that are in the NY area ... Dad's base of operations and where he "worked" was diving for salvage from WWII in the Hudson River. It's amazing what you learn years after the fact ...

Happy Father's Day Dad!

Sandy Navas