PDA

View Full Version : diabetic

asta
June 10th, 2014, 09:31 AM
I have had type 1 diabetes for most of my life (about 40 years) recently I have been having trouble controlling my blood sugars and my Dr. has suggested I get an insulin pump. I know nothing about them and when talking to the pump expert at the hospital yesterday I am confused(?) wondering if anyone here has any experience with a pump and if they can give me their opinions as to the benefits or troubles they have run into.
Thanks for any input you can give me.

Doloris
June 10th, 2014, 09:37 AM
I am not diabetic, but have a niece that has been for years. She has had several pumps and she loves them. Her newest one is a small white box looking thing that she can attach in several different places. Looks to be a little bigger than those little white tubs you get a pat of butter in at a restaurant. She is very happy with hers. It is also waterproof.

JCY
June 10th, 2014, 11:17 AM
I am a retired nurse. I'm borderline Type 2 Diabetes. I would suggest you go on line & do the research of the products available. I know several people, & have had patients, who have insulin pumps. Everyone has been very pleased with the pump & feel like it makes their lives easier. There also are continuous glucose monitoring devices one can wear. You probably would have better luck getting helpful info. from a qualified diabetes educator who can explain how the pumps work. I wish you well. JCY

New York Sue
June 10th, 2014, 11:57 AM
I have a friend who manages his glucose very well, with a pump. Prior to the pump, he was poorly controlled. When I asked him about it, he said 'instead of the diabetes controlling me, I'm controlling the diabetes'. That is a GOOD thing!
Go for it, chica!

bubba
June 10th, 2014, 12:30 PM