PDA

View Full Version : Thankful for a door and a window!

SallyO'Sews
April 17th, 2014, 10:35 AM
... in my workplace. Also for speakers on my computer, so I can hear less of what is going on "out there"... :icon_rolleyes:

Not that it's really all that bad; my boss NEVER raises his voice (well, I haven't heard him in the ten years I've worked here). Actually, I leave the door open all day, except for my 1/2-hour lunch break. Then I close the door and enjoy the solitude. And I am so grateful that I sit near a window, where I get actual daylight, even if it's single-paned and I also get too cold in winter and too warm in the spring & summer! :icon_shake:

Tell me what you like best about your workplace!

Miss Sheri
April 17th, 2014, 10:39 AM
I currently work as a high school cook, [yes, I'm a "Lunch Lady"!] The students are from my neighborhood, my children, their friends and associates, so that is fun. But, the best part is that I truly love all the ladies I get to work with! We laugh so much, every day, it's like working with your sisters, or best friends. I miss them, during the summer!

WendyI
April 17th, 2014, 10:53 AM
right now the fact that I don't have to be there but still get paid. I work with a great bunch of people, who I can ignore if I choose to and the fact that I have a window that opens, a door I can shut and speakers just like you. I have the autonomy to perform my job at my own pace provided I meet my deadlines which is stress relieving. I love that after 24 years I have 27 days of vacation plus one week paid shut down at Christmas. I can honestly say I am proud to work at the University of Waterloo!

Wwena
April 17th, 2014, 12:09 PM
The best thing is that I have my team mates (IT development is done in "teams" now instead of project groups ;) ) right in the same room with me. I don't like sitting alone, I get so much good info from sitting right in the thick of it with the developers. Gives me great testing ideas. :)

Michelle M