PDA

View Full Version : La Femme Night Owl

Lisapc
October 11th, 2013, 12:56 AM
I am not good at the movie title thing. I am missing Cyndi and I hope you don't mind that I am covering for her over the next couple of nights. Anyway, here we go:

When I was a little girl we weren't spoiled. We never had assigned chores but on Saturday during the school year we worked right along side my mother cleaning the house and on Sunday if it wasn't raining we were outside working with him. We never wanted for anything but knew that presents were for Birthday's and Holidays. There was 9 of us and I totally respect how well a job they did making sure we always had what we needed. Even with that I remember pay day. For many years that payday was a day full of nervousness for my mother. She never felt she made enough and poor Dad would walk in and say to her, "Hi, Patty, how was your day?" And her reply was always the same, "did you get your check?" I took that as meaning we weren't eating if he didn't. He always did so it took years before I realized that my mother has a fear of no money. She still does. She had a drawer in her dresser that I was never to touch without her in the room. It was filled with silk scarves. They were so pretty and I loved them. So much so that I often would get caught in that drawer by her. She would just smile at me or tell me to get out of her room! Those scarves represented money, excess, riches and luxury to me. As an adult luxury to me is very different. I look at working towards my hubby's early retirement with no real money worries when he does retire as a luxury. So tonight's question is:

When you were a child what represented luxury to you? As an adult what represents luxury to you and do you have it?

kensington
October 11th, 2013, 12:59 AM