PDA

View Full Version : A Social Delimna...

easyquilts
September 26th, 2013, 08:26 AM
A few months ago, I began teaching the 13yo daughtervafvgoodvfriends to quilt... She loved it, and now quilts on her own...even attends a church quilting group.

I gavevhervacfewvthingsvto get started, including my fav blue natt that I onetimes used on top of my big green one. It helped me see certain fabrics better. I also gave her a 6x12 ruler I con't use anymore...I now have N 8x14 I love.

AND, I gave her my Jem Platinum....my backup....to use. I knew she really didn't have anything... My delimna?
I think she saw that machine as a gift.... I may have unintentionally given her that impression.

How should I handle getting it back? I don't want to offend her parents... They have been a help to us in several important ways...... They might think it was a gift, too....

I'm not good with this kind of thing, often just letting it go...but that was an expendive little machine.

Thanks in advance!

I added done important information in the second posting.... I thought I was exciting... So sorry.

I mentioned thsy J. Is planning on a weekend if sewing in Decrmber, and that while we selfj see them (we live n different gowns), we consider her parents to be close friends.....even though they are younger. They even gave DH his own black Chihuahua.

Monique
September 26th, 2013, 08:33 AM
My personal thought on this is that you need to be strong and explain to them that the machine in only on loan and apologize to them if that they had the impression otherwise. Maybe someone at the church group can find her a free machine, they are always out there.

Iris Girl
September 26th, 2013, 08:35 AM
I have to agree you have to be firm and let her know it was only a loaner and you really do need it back soon as its your back up machine.

easyquilts
September 26th, 2013, 08:35 AM