PDA

View Full Version : A strange visitor

asta
June 7th, 2013, 12:03 AM
Our doorbell rings about an hour ago, after corralling the dog into the backyard I answer the door. It was a realtor, she has a buyer that may be interested in buying our home. It is not on the market, but my husband and I have been talking about selling for about 6 months or more. She wants to meet with us on Monday to do a preliminary home assessment and discuss the details. Not sure what to think??????
Beth

Sew Perfect
June 7th, 2013, 12:06 AM
That's so interesting! What a compliment!

Jean Sewing Machine
June 7th, 2013, 12:06 AM
In the past week, I've gotten two mailings from people who said they want to buy my house. I'd be wary. I think they will low ball you, you will not make a penny on the deal. Let me know how this goes.

MRoy
June 7th, 2013, 12:07 AM
Be very careful...there are so many scam artists these days.

Hulamoon
June 7th, 2013, 12:11 AM
I would be really careful of this. I inherited a house in calif, I fixed it up and it's now renting. I constantly get postcards in the mail asking if I want to sell. I asked my realator and it seems it's a common practice. If you do want to sell go through a proper realator that you trust. people like to flip houses and will take advantage really fast.

Gayle Russell
June 7th, 2013, 12:14 AM
DO NOT let those people in your home. I've heard of people doing this, they go in, inspect your home, taking very careful note of all your possessions, if there's any security devices, then come back later when no one is home and steal you blind. DON'T let this happen to you.
I've never heard of reputable realtors doing door to door solicitation!

asta
June 7th, 2013, 12:19 AM
The visit was from a real estate agency here in town, a well known and well respected company, just got off the phone with my DH, he is all excited, he says he went to school with this realtor. Small world.

shannonsaulter
June 7th, 2013, 12:28 AM