PDA

View Full Version : Anyone ever done upholstery??

WendyI
May 9th, 2013, 12:55 PM
We have a 22 foot camper..it's only three years old but the upholstery is brutal for holding hair and the foam they use in making the sofas and seat cushions is HORRIBLE! So I want to replace it and figured I might as well put better upholstery fabric on the cushions while I'm at it?

Has anyone ever done this?

I am considering just taking the existing cushions apart to use them as my "pattern" for new ones...but I'm nervous about ripping the sofa apart. It's one of those ones that you flip the bottom up and then the back collapses to make a bed....and I have never done upholstery before other than a headboard and seats on dining room chairs.

Karena1984
May 9th, 2013, 01:46 PM
I would make slipcovers. I've had bad luck when it comes to recovering things like that. Slipcovers could be taken off easy to wash too!

asta
May 9th, 2013, 03:16 PM
I recovered, many years ago, the cushions on my Dad's sailboat, too the old ones apart and used this as the pattern it worked out so well that I also did a few other boats. It was a lot of work and I did do a lot of hand sewing of the corners and such. I did not put in piping on any of the cushions.
Beth

bubba
May 9th, 2013, 03:32 PM
Yes....I recovered our little couch in our fifth wheel in denim! I don't know that I'd do it again, but it's camping, so hey...

HdWench
May 9th, 2013, 05:25 PM
Sounds like in your camper is this attached where you can't replace it? We took out 99.9% of the Mobile Suites new furniture - hate those "majic" bed sofas - They aren't comfortable to sit on and omg it's Camping, not many are invited to sleep inside LOL

We replaced our's with a real sofa (or rather Love seat since our Mobile Suite is 36') don't want it over powering the rooms