PDA

View Full Version : My chicks

Hulamoon
April 10th, 2013, 02:37 PM
Talk about spring. I have three set's of these in my yard right now. Plus the roosters This one has eleven!! They were moving to fast to get them all in. I took a lot of pictures but I'm going to show just one. You all have seen chickens before. lol I had to throw some bird seed to get close enough.

Jean Sewing Machine
April 10th, 2013, 03:27 PM
You sure do have the animals! Fish, now chicks! How many chickens do you have? I love the baby chicks, they grow up fast, don't they? I'm a city girl, and never raised chickens, but I was a first grade teacher for years, and we were given the opportunity to have incubators and chicks in our classrooms, thanks to our science coordinator. I often hatched chicks, and the kids really loved seeing them when they hatched. It was so cool to hold an egg that had pipped and hear the little chick peeping from within the egg! I have some priceless pictures of little people's eyes when they saw that chick come out of the egg. We did butterfly larvae also, and that was magical when they emerged from their coccoon. One really big thing I miss about teaching elementary school. That may be the only thing I miss!

nana margaret
April 10th, 2013, 03:46 PM
I love chickens, I have chicken crockery, chicken pictures, chicken ornaments but alas, no live chickens! They're very cute. :icon_bigsmile:

slg0522
April 10th, 2013, 03:51 PM
cute little chicks

Hulamoon
April 10th, 2013, 04:00 PM
Oh my gosh Jean these are all wild. I throw out old bread and cereal to them. This morning there was about fourteen hens (three with chicks) About four roosters (bad boy's getting all these girls pregnant lol) Then the cardinals and doves came flocking in. It was a nice birdie morning:)

Margaret you should of joined the chicken pin cushion group! Pm me:)

Jean Sewing Machine
April 10th, 2013, 04:08 PM