PDA

View Full Version : Did I put my foot in my mouth at LQS??

lsmithbendor
September 4th, 2009, 11:04 AM
I went to a local quilt store yesterday afternoon...I got a bee in my bonnet that I wanted a Hello Betty Charm pack and so at lunch off I went. They carry some charm packs/jelly rolls (tho not a whole lot) so it wasn't like I knew they didn't carry them. I looked around a bit and after ending a call, the saleslady approached me, smiling and very friendly and asked if she could help. I smiled and said, well I've already looked around and I'm thinking you don't have one, but I was looking for a Hello Betty Charm Pack? She pursed her lips, snapped "I don't have that", turned on her heel and walked away.

Did I do something? I'm pretty new to the whole quilt shop thing, I always had to go pretty inexpensive before. Now that I've found precuts...I go more frequently. Perhaps she was just having a bad day, I dunno, it was just a really odd interaction that left me feeling like I'd put my foot in my mouth by asking if she had one.

? thoughts? Did I commit a LQS sin, lol?

stitchywoman
September 4th, 2009, 06:00 PM
I don't think you did anything wrong!! My LQS doesn't carry much by way of precuts either maybe she was just having a bad day or she doesn't like precuts and is very upset about the direction the new quilting generation is going and charm packs are just not charming to her!!!! 8-) Just kidding ;) I really don't think you did anything wrong at my lqs I just keep mentioning how I like them and my favorite things I do try to buy somethings but I don't always though it's very difficult for me to come out of a fabric store empty handed! Even when the typical fabrics are not my style I usually find something! :lol:

She was probably just having a bad day... don't give up on her yet :)

Quilt Vader
September 6th, 2009, 04:34 AM
ISmith - I'm sure it wasn't you .. she was wrong however .. without a good explanation that is a firing offense. :V