PDA

View Full Version : a bit discouraged

shannonsaulter
December 20th, 2012, 02:19 AM
Ilove this site and trying to learn to quilt but I am seeing other newbies make wonderful things and wonder if I am cut out for quilting..not giving up yet but just wondering if I will ever get any good at this...

Winniesfriend
December 20th, 2012, 02:33 AM
I have just looked at your albums .... you have made some lovely projects , I am a newbie quilter to, I started this year, I have started taking classes which has been very helpful for me, getting those extra little tips, maybe you would find that useful to if you are having problems, but please done disheartened you are well on your way.

Sew Perfect
December 20th, 2012, 02:40 AM
Shannon,

Of course, you're cut out for quilting! I've seen some beautiful things you've made to include your ornaments. I think once Christmas is over, you should go to your local shop and ask them what they have coming up on the schedule as far as classes. You can also get yourself some really good books to help you. Plus there's us! We are here to help you as much as you need it. Please don't give up and don't get discouraged. It takes time.

Find a pattern you can follow (not a tutorial) like "The Yellow Brick Road", of "Turning Twenty Again", "Chip off the Old Block", or "Just Can't Cut it". These are all easy patterns and, in my opinion will help you get down the basic skills of reading instructions, cutting fabric, sewing blocks and matching seams. Make sure to always use a 1/4 inch or a scant 1/4 inch. You can do it!

pcbatiks
December 20th, 2012, 02:44 AM