PDA

View Full Version : Binding: Is it as scary as it sounds?

EmsMom
October 17th, 2010, 02:56 AM
Hi everyone,

I am very new to quilting. I have only made one (a rag quilt I made recently for my dd). I had a great time making that quilt and can see that quilting could become addicting LOL

I have been doing some research online and trying to learn everything I can about quilting. Someone suggested the Disappearing 9 Patch for my next quilt. It seems like that would be doable - with one exception: the binding. I've watching a few tutorials and read a few things but it just seems so intimidating....

janluna
October 17th, 2010, 03:39 AM
Have you seen Jennys tutorial? She makes it seem easy. There are two one is for the binding tool and one is just binding. Look at the tutorials here. It will make you feel better.

EmsMom
October 17th, 2010, 03:48 AM
Thanks. I will check out the tutorials.

Shirley
October 17th, 2010, 09:11 AM
HI,
I like your rag quilt! Love the colors. I have made them also.
The binding is not as hard as it may seem. Give it a try and you will see. The tutorials are great help.

quiltingtrish
October 17th, 2010, 10:22 AM
You can do it! Don't be like I WAS and waste time fretting about if you can do it or not.
If I think I would have a problem with a pattern or think a block was too hard even if it was listed as an easy one, I would procrastinate about it and put it off until 'later'.
How about if you watch the tutorials - and if you have any fabric hanging around that may be extra, make a 9 patch using maybe something like 5" squares or larger and practice your binding on that. That way you get your practice in before you attempt a big quilt and could end up with a small table topper or wall hanging. It would be a good size to practice your quilting on too.

Good luck - I'm sure you can do it!

Hugs,

jrchapman
October 17th, 2010, 10:38 AM