PDA

View Full Version : Fiskars vs Olfa rotary cutter 45mm vs 60mm

azillini
September 22nd, 2012, 09:39 PM
I'm getting ready to buy my first rotary cutter.....so which is better? Olfa or Fiskars? When do you use 45mm or 60mm? They all work on fleece, right? Hoping to buy 1 or the other to start, then may add a 2nd. I want something easier on my hands & wrists. All opinions will be valuable. Newbie here,
Azillini

auntiemern
September 22nd, 2012, 10:18 PM
I have both, but only use my Fiskars 45 mm. I like the way it fits in my hand. I have arthritis, so I have to use something that feels good to me. It is easy to grip, and I like the way the blade retracts. I am sure you will get as many answers as you have responses, I think it is just personal preference. Which ever you choose, do not cut over 4 layers of cotton at one time or one layer of fleece. Accuracy will be better, and blades will last longer.

Musical_Starling
September 22nd, 2012, 10:38 PM
I have three fiskars cutters, all 45mm and the small one that goes with the circle cut ruler (not sure of the name). I think 45mm is more "universal", it will do better with curves or smaller spaces. 60mm is usually only if you're cutting a lot of material or something very thick. As Marilyn said, you'll get many different opinions here as everyone has their favourites and for different reasons.