PDA

View Full Version : Who here is from Ireland? Going next year

BellasQuilts
August 11th, 2012, 11:45 PM
Next year DH and I will be married 20 years (2nd marriage for both) and he is taking me to Ireland, Normandy for D-Day and Scotland.

So, I want to have a more agricultural adventure in Ireland and Scotland. I want to do genealogy, learn Irish (DH;s idea; he's so Irish it's pitiful) if possible and see sights other than tourist spots. I am a linguist by trade, so learning another language isn't hard for me and I want to be where i can use the little i learn between now and then. I am getting so stoked about this trip. Me and DH all by ourselves for 3 whole weeks! I can't stand it, it sounds so great. Can we go now? Anyways, hoping my Irish and/or Scottish friends here can help me out.

We love agrarian areas, horses, cows, etc. Keep the cities, etc. not for us. Is there anyone with some travel experience there or that lives there to help? Oh, and a detailed map of all quilt sites will be in my pocket.

Tamara J Liddell
August 12th, 2012, 12:38 AM
Congrats on the 20th anniversary and the trip..
Ireland is on my bucket list of places to visit, (once I get over my fear of flying/heights) lol..

phoots
August 12th, 2012, 02:30 AM
Ireland and Scotland are also on my bucket list. Somehow I have a feeling I'll never make it.

I hope your 20th Anniversary will be happy and your trip memorible!!

Pam in Vegas

Musical_Starling
August 12th, 2012, 03:25 AM
Ireland and Scotland are on my bucket list too :) I have a cousin in Scotland, somewhere... And Newfoundland is the only place outside of Europe that has an Irish name, "Talamh an Éisc" which (I'm told) means "Land of the fish" :) Being a Newfie I feel like I have a lot in common with both cultures and countries, and I'd like to see for myself if it's really true!

Have a great trip! I'd be excited too and counting down the days lol

rebeccas-sewing
August 12th, 2012, 08:12 AM
Hi Bella,