PDA

View Full Version : Looking for "BOY" fabric (preferrably precuts)

Annette Holbrook
June 8th, 2012, 12:51 PM
I'm having a terrible time trying to find precuts (either charm packs or jellyrolls) in what I consider to be boy prints. I'd love to find something that is colorful but NOT BABYISH, NO PINK, NO FLORALS. I have four nephews whom I would like to make quilts for, but I'm just not finding something that they can use for a long time, to grow up with. They're only 1, 4 (twins) and 8 years old. I'm new to quilting, so I wanted to use the precuts to keep my frustration levels down. (Plus, Jenny makes everything look SO EASY in the video tutorials!!) Does anyone have any suggestions? Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

Jean Sewing Machine
June 8th, 2012, 01:02 PM
I think MSQC has a lot of precuts from Riley Blake that are oriented toward boys. I used Pirates from them for my grandsons age 7 and 9. The I Spy series comes in Boy or Girl versions. For the yonger one, I used Scoot, which has all kinds of transportation. I used double lice layer cake for the pirates and D9P for the Scoot charm packs.

From talking to Meghan at the shop, she told me they try to order Riey Blake stuff oriented to boys, and the girlie stuff comes from other manufacturers. Look over what they have in Riley Blake, I'll bet you'll find something. There's always licensed stuff in yardage that you can use, cowboy and patriotic also seem to go over with boys. And of course, there's camo.

If you can find one of those June Tailor Shape cut rulers, they come in two sizes, you can cut your yardage into squares or strips in no time flat, it will save you money and give you more flexibility in choosing fabrics.

I made a Richard Scarry Busytown quilt for my 4 year old grandson, he loved it. Found it at a local shop.

Found Mischief for boys by Benartex,

Jean Sewing Machine
June 8th, 2012, 02:07 PM