PDA

View Full Version : (sing along). "You Ought To Be In Pictures!"

Jean Sewing Machine
June 3rd, 2012, 08:44 AM
I got my chance last night, I made my film debut! Well, that doesn't include those embarassing swim suit shots my grandfather took of me when I was 6 and had no curves!

I participated in an event in our fair city called 48 Hour Film Festival. In this event, production teams produce a specific genre of film (7 minutes long) that is entered into a competition. The film is done from scratch starting at 6 p.m. On Friday, when the genres are chosen at random by the team and they get information on the three common elements that every group must include in their film.

Our group, made up of college English professors and their current and former students, including some assorted family members recruited because they happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time, were to produce a horror film. Of course, there had to be a murder.

I was a writer, costumer and eventually, ACTRESS! I had three PIVOTAL lines, because the director's sister and I set the tone for the film, we would be the first people you see in the film. Trust two 60 something non-actresses with 3 lines each and what do you hAve? A record number of takes because we messed up halfway through! There was an occasional BLUE word that slipped out because we forgot our lines half way through. We first dressed up as the "Arsenic and Old Lace" style old ladies, but we were talking about our brother who was in his 30's, so that didn't work. We tossed off our old lady wigs, and hair was au naturale as we ploughed through. After we said our three lines each about 50 times, we finally got through it without the mess ups, hesitations, grimaces, cuss words, and the director was OK with it. He had had 1 hour of sleep in the past 30 hours, so he was ready to compromise on quality. What was he expecting, brilliant performances?