Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Default Philosophic Thinkers

One of my required classes for my degree is "Introduction for Foreign Languages II." Seems like a pretty straightforward title right? The first class was "...I" and it was about plagerism, citing sources, thesis writing, etc.

So my assumption was that it was more of the same. Man, was I ever wrong!!!

Ya know what this II level is about? Philosophy!! What the heck?? Very misleading course title and why is a philosophy class mandatory for an English degree? I am struggling so much with this class as I am an analytical thinker and don't do well with theories. I go to all the classes, read all the material and still don't do well on the graded quizzes. I pass them, but with a low grade. Ugh!

The only thing I can think of doing is writing down each philosopher that we study, his main thoughts and theories and anything significant during his time and then just study this over and over again.

Any input from anyone? I could use some guidance as how to understand this stuff.
    “"To know what people really think, pay attention to what they do, rather than what they say."

Quilting Royalty

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Philosophic Thinkers

Maybe if you become an English teacher you will be able to spot quickly those students and their ability to plagerise? I would not do well in a class like that either. I prefer either the stuff is "black" or "white" so to speak, not much gray matter in the course. I have enough gray matter on my head and in my head!

3. Thanks mommadeb thanked for this post
    Rotary Pro

Post Thanks / Like