Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

madampolo's Avatar madampolo is offline Senior Member
    Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Default Layer Cake Fabric Size

I have never worked with a layer cake before. I bought two Tonga Treats Squares packages, each a different style. I am trying to make a Double Slice Layer Cake quilt like the MSQC video. When making the blocks this morning, I found that they are not uniformly cut at 10 inches. It isn't like they are a minimum of 10 inches either. Therefore, they did not stack well, and the blocks are uneven. I know I will need to square up, and it looks like they will square up to 9 inches easily. My square up ruler is 9 1/2 inches, so I can't use it. I am using my 12 inch square up ruler, and it is a lot more trouble to do so. My question is this: Do layer cakes sold by other manufacturers measure out to exactly 10 inches? Or, are they all about like this?

Since I bought two different Tonga-Treats packs, I mixed them together and made 45 blocks this morning for a 5 by 9 quilt. I will be adding boarders, once I get the blocks squared and then sewn together. It is going to be pretty, and it sure was easy!

http://www.missouriquiltco.com/pre-c...treasures.html

Judy~Ann's Avatar Judy~Ann is offline Senior Member
    The Guild President

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Layer Cake Fabric Size

I have never had a problem with layer cakes not being a 10"x10" square. I'm sorry you are having this problem.... it really seems unfair when you purchase something and don't get what you expected. Please share your finished quilt with us??
    ~ Judy

When God adds a period, I'm trying very hard not to add a question mark!

GrammaBabs's Avatar GrammaBabs is offline Senior Member
    Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

that does seem rather unfair to quilters!!!