Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jelly rolls

Shiny Thimble

Post Thanks / Like

Default Jelly rolls

Can anyone let me know how many jelly rolls I need to make a quilt for a king size bed. I'm new to the quilting world and this will be my first attempt at such a large project.

Sandy Navas's Avatar Sandy Navas is offline Senior Member
    Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Jelly rolls

Here is a site that shows you the bedding sizes. http://www.unitednotions.com/un_main...uides!OpenPage

Let us assume that you are making a quilt 106” x 98”. Let us also assume that you are NOT using any other fabric for borders. If your jelly roll strips are 45" long you will have to allow for seams and removing the selvedge edge. Let's take 3 inches off just to be safe. So, assuming we now have 42" we'll divide 106 by 42 and arrive at: 2.52 - or right at 2 1/2 strips to go the width of the quilt. Now, assuming a standard 2 1/2 inch wide strip, which will leave you at 2 inches once you allow for the 1/4" seam, we'll divide 98" by 2" and will wind up with: 49 which will be the number of rows you will need.

49 rows requiring 2 1/2 strips per row will give us: 122 1/2 jelly roll strips. A standard MODA jelly roll will have 45 strips, but some only have 24, 40, 42 . . . it does depend on the colorways and repeats in the package so you will need to pay close attention. For safety, let us assume 40 strips only. 122.5 divided by 40 = will give you just a bit over 3 rolls. If your jelly roll has a complete 45 strips then you will only need 2 3/4 rolls.

I'd get three rolls and depending upon whether or not you add a border you will have some extra or not - depending on the number of strips in the roll.

Good Luck - welcome to the forum and come ask questions any time.