Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    azillini is offline Junior Member
    Shiny Thimble

Post Thanks / Like

Question Fiskars vs Olfa rotary cutter 45mm vs 60mm

I'm getting ready to buy my first rotary cutter.....so which is better? Olfa or Fiskars? When do you use 45mm or 60mm? They all work on fleece, right? Hoping to buy 1 or the other to start, then may add a 2nd. I want something easier on my hands & wrists. All opinions will be valuable. Newbie here,
    Azillini

auntiemern's Avatar auntiemern is online now Senior Member
    Missouri Star

Just outside of St. Louis in rural Missouri
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Fiskars vs Olfa rotary cutter 45mm vs 60mm

I have both, but only use my Fiskars 45 mm. I like the way it fits in my hand. I have arthritis, so I have to use something that feels good to me. It is easy to grip, and I like the way the blade retracts. I am sure you will get as many answers as you have responses, I think it is just personal preference. Which ever you choose, do not cut over 4 layers of cotton at one time or one layer of fleece. Accuracy will be better, and blades will last longer.

Blankets wrap you in warmth, quilts wrap you in love

A quilt is something you make to keep someone you love...WARM.....

What I make with my hands, I give of my heart.

Marilyn......

Musical_Starling's Avatar Musical_Starling is offline Senior Member
    Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

I have three fiskars cutters, all 45mm and the small one that goes with the circle cut ruler (not sure of the name). I think 45mm is more "universal", it will do better with curves or smaller spaces. 60mm is usually only if you're cutting a lot of material or something very thick. As Marilyn said, you'll get many different opinions here as everyone has their favourites and for different reasons.