Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Miss Mandie is offline Junior Member
    Fabric Fanatic

Post Thanks / Like

Default Layer cake quilt sizes

Hello. This is my first time here, as I am new to quilting.

My question is, how many layer cakes does it take to make a queen size quilt? also, what are the measurements, and how many blocks would it be across and downwards.

Hoping you can help me.

Thanks in advance.

Mandie.

Sandy Navas's Avatar Sandy Navas is online now Senior Member
    Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Layer cake quilt sizes

Mandie, first WELCOME to the forum and WELCOME to quilting. Here are a couple sites that you should be familiar with - other than Missouri Star (which you've found and WILL find is the very BEST!!): http://www.amishcountrylanes.com/Pages/QuiltSize.shtml
    and
    http://www.unitednotions.com/un_main...uides!OpenPage
    and
    http://www.unitednotions.com/un_main...uides!OpenPage

A Queen-size quilt would be (approximately) 84” x 92”. So, depending on whether or not you plan borders, just assuming the 84x92 inches would require 8 blocks across and 9 blocks down (assuming, also, 10" square blocks in your layer cake . . . some may be a slightly different size). 8x9 = 72, so you would need 72 blocks. Most layer cakes have anywhere from 20 to 40+ squares in them . . . so it would depend on which layer cakes you have to use and how many pieces were included in each layer cake.

Sure hope this helps!! Oh, and watch out. Quilting is extremely addictive . . . and oh, so much fun!

Whew! I just ran 2 miles. What a workout.
    I didn't think that ice cream truck would ever stop.

3. Thanks VickiJ thanked for this post
    Fabric Fanatic

Post Thanks / Like

Sandy.